Jennifer Egan – A Visit from the Goon Squad

11 Gen

And La Doll had a vision: broad, translucent trays of oil and water suspended beneath small brightly colored spotlights whose heat would make the opposing liquids twist and bubble and swirl. She’d imagined people craning their necks to look up, spellbound by the shifting liquid shapes. And they did look up. They marveled at the lit trays; La Doll saw them do it from a small booth she’d had constructed high up and to one side so she could view the panorama of her achievement. From there, she was the first to notive, as midnight approached, that something was awry with the translucent trays that held the water and the oil: they were sagging a little – were there? They were slumping like sacks from their chains and melting, in other words. And then they began to collapse, flop and drape and fall away, sending scalding oil onto the heads of every glamorous person in the country and some other countries, too.

Jennifer Egan
A Visit from the Goon Squad
corsair 

***

 

4 Risposte to “Jennifer Egan – A Visit from the Goon Squad”

  1. trip-layouts.com 8 aprile 2013 a 08:16 #

    I actually Believe that post, “Jennifer Egan – A Visit from the Goon Squad
    | Tegamini.” ended up being correctly written! I personallycan’t agree with you even more! At last appears like I actuallystumbled upon a weblog very well worth looking through. Thanks for your effort, Rodolfo

  2. www.freakinfood.com 8 aprile 2013 a 21:31 #

    Hmm it seems like your site ate my first comment (it was super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I had written and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.
    I too am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to everything. Do you have any tips for rookie blog writers? I’d genuinely appreciate it.

  3. Reece 6 maggio 2013 a 13:51 #

    It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d without a doubt donate to this superb blog! I suppose for now i’ll settle for book-marking and adding your RSS
    feed to my Google account. I look forward to fresh updates and will talk about this blog with my Facebook group.
    Chat soon!

  4. potracks.net 17 luglio 2013 a 06:49 #

    Fantastic goods from you, man. I have understand your stuff previous
    to and you’re just too magnificent. I really like what you have acquired here, certainly like what you are saying and the way in which you say it. You make it enjoyable and you still take care of to keep it wise. I can’t wait to read far more from you.
    This is really a terrific site.

Rispondi

